New bonuses for rural GPs

Country GPs will be paid up to $10,000 under a new state government agreement if they work at SAHealth facilities on top of their work as private GPs.

Dec 20, 2023, updated Dec 20, 2023
Health Minister Chris Picton. Photo: Tony Lewis/InDaily

Health Minister Chris Picton. Photo: Tony Lewis/InDaily

Additionally, doctors already operating in regional areas who sign up for the agreement will receive an extra $5,000, while there will also be a 3 per cent increase to sessional rates.

The new payment is separate from the up to $50,000 already offered to GPs who work for SAHealth facilities in rural South Australia.

In May, InDaily reported that the State Government would offer up to $15,000 for interstate and overseas health workers to work in rural South Australia.

Under the new SA Health Rural GP Agreement 2024-2028, GPs will be remunerated for a broad range of non-clinical commitments such as teaching, supervision, regional Local Health Network meetings and other essential hospital-based activities.

Currently, more than 330 rural GPs and GP registrars are contracted by SA Health to provide medical services in rural and regional hospitals, providing essential healthcare such as emergency services, inpatient care, surgery, obstetrics and anaesthetics.

Health Minister Chris Picton said that the new agreement “provides security to our regional doctors compared to the previous two-year deal signed under the former Liberal Government”.

“It provides peace of mind to people who live in regional South Australia to know that their local doctor is being looked after for the incredible role they play in the community.”

InDaily in your inbox. The best local news every workday at lunch time.
By signing up, you agree to our User Agreement andPrivacy Policy & Cookie Statement. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The payment will be offered to GPs who work for SAHealth in 32 country towns, including Mount Pleasant, Kapunda, Eudunda, Barmera, Meningie, Mannum, Renmark, Waikerie, Bordertown, Kingston, Millicent, Penola, Clare, Wallaroo, Peterborough, Laura, Port Broughton, Crystal Brook, Jamestown, Quorn and Hawker.

The agreement was negotiated between the state branch of the Australian Medical Association, the Rural Doctors’ Association of South Australia and the Rural Support Service on behalf of SA Health’s six regional local health networks.

Negotiations started in early 2023 and the deal will take effect on February 1, 2024.

This article has been updated due to a factual error in an earlier version.

Local News Matters
Copyright © 2024 InDaily.
All rights reserved.