InDaily reporters win at media awards

InDaily’s Tom Richardson and Bension Siebert have taken out two gongs at the SA Media Awards, held at the Adelaide Wine Centre on Saturday night.

Jun 03, 2019, updated Jun 03, 2019

Senior InDaily reporter Richardson won the Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique category for his columns on SA politics.

A former Journalist of the Year winner, Richardson has won the opinion category twice previously.

Siebert took home the Max Fatchen Award for Best Young Journalist for a series of articles: “New mental health scandal hits SA Health“, “Secrecy surrounds would-be faction to control the next Adelaide City Council“, “REVEALED: Le Cornu site sale price millions above valuations“.

Siebert has won the award three times.

Best Print Journalist was won by The Advertiser’s Brad Crouch, with The Advertiser’s Matt Turner winning Best Photographer.

Seven’s Hendrik Gout won the Best Investigative Journalism award.

Best News Photograph or Photographic Series was won by Thomas Huntley of The Advertiser and The Australian, while Best Sports Photograph or Photographic Series was taken out by The Advertiser’s Sarah Reed.

The award for Best Sport Journalism was won by Liz Walsh of The Advertiser and Sunday Mail.

ABC’s Caroline Winter won Best Radio Broadcaster, while UniSA’s Thomas Kelsall won the Julie Duncan Memorial for Student Journalism.

ABC’s Angelique Donnellan was named Journalist of the Year for the second year running, as well as the Silver Award for Best TV Broadcaster, and the Bronze award for Best TV Current Affairs or Feature.

Adelaide author and journalist Royce Kurmelovs won Best Freelance Contribution for his series of articles on Indigenous deaths in custody.

Veteran Adelaide journalist and former “Mr Movies” at The Advertiser, Stan James, was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

InDaily in your inbox. The best local news every workday at lunch time.
By signing up, you agree to our User Agreement andPrivacy Policy & Cookie Statement. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

SA Media Awards chair Samela Harris said the night marked the “happiest time of the year in the media, the truly good news story”.

“It is burnished with the brilliance of rising stars, of quality journalism, of courageous campaigning journalists, of skilled writers and artists and photographers who maintain excellence and strive for the best,” she said.

“It is painful sometimes to select winners because the level of competition is so high. These are the pros who take pride in our media and give us cause for pride.

“If the mainstream media is dead – as we keep reading on social media – then it is not happening here in South Australia.”

Want to comment?

Send us an email, making it clear which story you’re commenting on and including your full name (required for publication) and phone number (only for verification purposes). Please put “Reader views” in the subject.

We’ll publish the best comments in a regular “Reader Views” post. Your comments can be brief, or we can accept up to 350 words, or thereabouts.

InDaily has changed the way we receive comments. Go here for an explanation.


Local News Matters
Copyright © 2024 InDaily.
All rights reserved.